Ru
En
06.04.202110.07.2021

Modern Cyrillic 2021 is an international type design competition. It is a sequel to Kyrillitsa’99, Modern Cyrillic 2009, 2014 and 2019. The aim of the competition is to get the objective evidence of the current state of Cyrillic type design and find the best examples of its development.

Modern Cyrillic 2021 is organised by Paratype.

Jury

img
Alexandra Korolkova
Art director of Paratype. Participated in Public Types of Russian Federation project as leading designer. The 9th recipient of Prix Charles Peignot (2013). Wrote a book on typography for beginners (in Russian) «Live Typography». Spoke at ATypI, TYPO Berlin, TypeCon, TYPO Labs, Serebro Nabora, Typofest, Typetersburg.
img
Alexander Lubovenko
Type designer, graphic designer and programmer combining in one person. A graduate of Type and typography course of the British school of Art and Design (Moscow. 2014). Works at Paratype and uses Python scripting for advanced font development.
img
Yuri Gordon
Artist, working with text. Illustrator, type and graphic designer and writer. Yuri has written a few books, including «The Book of Letters: from Aa to Яя». He made a lot of artist books and art maps.
img
Valery Golyzhenkov
Graphic and type designer, teacher, partner in Letterhead Studio, founder of Typoholic.ru and member of the editorial board of the Type Journal.
img
Ivan Velichko
Иван Величко — сооснователь дизайн-бюро «Щука», кандидат искусствоведения, преподаватель в Британской высшей школе дизайна. В «Щуке» вместе с партнером Иваном Васиным занимается арт-директированием всех проектов студии.
img
Konstantin Frolov
Konstantin Frolov is a graphic designer, specialising in branding and typographic experiments. Graduated from the British Higher School of Art and Design (Visual Communication course), worked with dozens of brands from Type. Today to Sberbank. Laureate of Pentawards, ADCR, Sreda festivals. Since 2018 he is a lead designer at Shuka.
img
Fiona Ross
Fiona specializes in type design and typography primarily for Arabic, South Asian, and Thai scripts, having a background in languages with a PhD in Indian Palaeography (SOAS). Fiona is a part-time member of staff of the Department of Typography and Graphic Communication at the University of Reading (UK), where she is Professor in Type Design. She is currently running a Leverhulme-funded ‘Women in Type’ research project: https://research.reading.ac.uk/women-in-type/. Fiona works as a consultant, type designer, author, and lecturer; her recent design work has been in collaboration with Tim Holloway, John Hudson and Neelakash Kshetrimayum for clients such as Ananda Bazar Patrika, Adobe, Microsoft, Monotype and Harvard University Press. For her work in type design and education Fiona received the SoTA Typography Award (2014) and the Type Director’s Club Medal (2018)
img
Peter Biľak
Peter works in the field of editorial, graphic, and type design. In 1999 he started Typotheque type foundry, in 2000, together with Stuart Bailey he co-founded art & design journal Dot Dot Dot, in 2012 he started Works That Work, a magazine of unexpected creativity, in 2015 together with Andrej Krátky he co-founded Fontstand.com, a font rental platform. He collaborates with the choreographer Lukas Timulak on creation of modern dance performances, and together they started Make-Move-Think.org, a foundation for interdisciplinary artistic collaborations. Peter is teaching at the Type & Media, postgraduate course at the Royal Academy of Arts, The Hague. Member of AGI (Alliance Graphique Internationale).
img
John Boardley
John Boardley is author of Typographic Firsts: Adventures in Early Printing, and founder of the world’s most popular typography blog, I Love Typography (since 2007). In addition to editing ILT, he is writing several more books on the early history of type and the printed book. John was born in the UK but now lives in Vietnam, via Japan.
img
Victoria and Vitalina Lopukhina
They have been doing calligraphy and lettering since 2009, from the time of their studies. Education: Kyiv State Institute of Decorative Art and Design named after M. Boychuk in Kyiv (bachelor), magistracy: Vitalina graduated from Kyiv State Institute of Decorative Art and Design named after M. Boychuk, Vika-from the Academy of Printing (Lviv). They took several courses independently from different masters. Participants of international festivals, competitions, conferences, including PLASTER, Wroclaw type forum, Typomania, Typeterburg, ATypI. They conduct original courses on online platforms, including Bangbangeducation and SKVOT, and also teach offline courses on calligraphy in Kiev at the ArtiYa Calligraphy School. They teach at the M. Boychuk Academy at the Department of Graphic Design (Kyiv). Victoria and Vitalina are practicing graphic designers, calligraphers, letterrers and type designers.
img
Oleg Macujev
Type designer and calligrapher. He graduated from Lomonosov Moscow State University («design of mass media» specialization), in 2004–2007 he studied at the Alexander Tarbeev Type Design Workshop. Winner at Modern Cyrillic 09, 14 and 2019. The 2nd prize at Granshan 2011. Works were shortlisted at New Cyrillic 2012 and Call for type 2013 (the Gutenberg Museum Mainz). ‘Russian Writing: Tradition And Experimentation’ exhibition organizer.
img
Christian Schwartz
Christian Schwartz (born 1977) is a partner, with London-based designer Paul Barnes, in the type foundry Commercial Type, and heads up the company’s New York office. Schwartz has published fonts with many respected independent foundries including House Industries, Emigre, and Font Bureau, and has designed proprietary typefaces for corporations and publications worldwide. Schwartz and Barnes began an ongoing collaboration in 2005 with their extensive typeface system for The Guardian, and together with their team have since completed custom typefaces for clients including Esquire, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York, Yandex, and Vanity Fair. In 2007, Schwartz was awarded the prestigious Prix Charles Peignot, given every four or five years by the Association Typographique Internationale to a designer under 35 who has made «an outstanding contribution to the field of type design».

Organising committee

img
Dmitry Goloub
img
Nick Nedashkovsky
img
Anya Rusanova
img
Gennady Fridman
img
Lara Shirochenko
img
Sasha Yakupova

Stages of the competition

Submitting entries
06.04.202117.05.2021
announcing the shortlist
25.06.2021
Announcing the winners
10.07.2021

The results will be published at moderncyrillic.org 01.07.2021. Winning typefaces will be awarded with honorary diplomas of Modern Cyrillic 2021, published in the catalog and shown at the traveling exhibition. Authors of the winning typefaces will receive a copy of the catalog after its publication. In addition, the organisers and partners of the competition reserve the right to award their own prizes to selected designs among the ones recognised by the jury.

There’s also an additional bonus — two special prizes from the most popular type design apps: FontLab, Glyphs — a license for the latest versions of these editors.

To participate,
open the site
on a desktop

Contact details

For any questions about the competition and the terms of submission please contact the organising committee at cyrillic@paratype.com or at our Facebook or at Telegram.

Ru
En
06.04.202115.07.2021

«Современная кириллица 2021» — международный конкурс шрифтового дизайна. Это продолжение серии конкурсов «Кириллица’99», «Современная кириллица 2009», «Современная кириллица 2014» и «Современная кириллица 2019». Цель конкурса — получить максимально объективное представление о нынешнем состоянии кириллицы и найти лучшие примеры её развития.

Организатор конкурса — Паратайп.

Победители

img
Oceanic
Автор
Ilya Naumoff
img
De Villeneuve
Автор
Кирилл Сиротин
img
Spectral
Автор
Jean-Baptiste Levée
img
Literata
Автор
Vera Evstafieva, Elena Novoselova
img
Amaala
Автор
Ilya Naumoff, Bahman Islami, Benjamin Blaess
img
Heymland
Автор
Евгений Анфалов
img
Соловки
Автор
Григорий Маракуев
img
Relaate Serif
Автор
Александр Слобженинов
img
Factor A
Автор
Ilya
img
Halvar
Автор
Lisa Fischbach, Jakob Runge & Nils Thomsen
img
Pskov
Автор
Марина Марьина
img
Minea
Автор
Biljana Stanković
img
Right Grotesk
Автор
Александр Слобженинов (латиница, кириллица), Илья Бажанов (кириллица)
img
Stratos
Автор
Yoann Minet
img
PlovdivTypeface
Автор
Typedepot, Studio Punkt
img
Epos
Автор
Denis Serebryakov
img
Spektra
Автор
Type Salon (Alja Herlah and Krista Likar)
img
Hubble
Автор
Lazar Dimitrijevic
img
Tomasa
Автор
Fer Cozzi
img
Lurk
Автор
Юрий Остроменцкий, Илья Рудерман, Никита Канарёв
img
29LT Zarid Sans
Автор
Jann Fromm (Latin), Krista Radoeva (Cyrillic)
img
Zloy
Автор
Дарья Петрова

Победители зрительского голосования

img
Роман Шамин
Martian Grotesk
img
Илья Буравчиков
Kharms Display
img
Евгений Анфалов
Heymland

Шорт-лист

Голосование окончено, оно было доступно 05.07.2021 - 14.07.2021

img
Ilya
Factor A
img
Юлия Гонина, Анна Тихонова, Марина Ходак
TT Ricordi
img
Юрий Остроменцкий, Илья Рудерман, Никита Канарёв
Lurk
img
Вова Егошин
Choowee
Посмотреть все работы

Жюри

img
Александра Королькова
Арт-директор Паратайпа. Лауреат биеннале Золотая пчела (2008), конкурсов Современная кириллица 2009, Granshan (2011), European Design Award (2011), премии имени Шарля Пеньо (2013). Автор книги «Живая типографика».
img
Александр Любовенко
Шрифтовой дизайнер, графический дизайнер и программист одновременно. В 2014 году защитил диплом на курсе «Шрифт и типографика» в БВШД. Активно использует возможности языка Python для развития шрифтов Паратайпа.
img
Юрий Гордон
Художник, работающий с текстом. Иллюстратор, шрифтовик, дизайнер, литератор. Автор нескольких книг, в том числе «Книги про буквы от Аа до Яя» и «Книги про мои буквы». Создатель множества книг художника и арт-карт.
img
Валерий Голыженков
Графический дизайнер, дизайнер шрифта, педагог, партнёр в студии Letterhead, автор проекта Typoholic.ru, член редколлегии журнала «Шрифт».
img
Иван Величко
Иван Величко — сооснователь дизайн-бюро «Щука», кандидат искусствоведения, преподаватель в Британской высшей школе дизайна. В «Щуке» вместе с партнером Иваном Васиным занимается арт-директированием всех проектов студии.
img
Константин Фролов
Графический дизайнер, занимается брендингом и экспериментами с типографикой. Закончил Британскую Высшую Школу Дизайна (курс Визуальные Коммуникации), работал с десятками брендов от Type. Today, до Сбера. Лауреат фестивалей Pentawards, ADCR, Среда. С 2018 года ведущий дизайнер в «Щуке».
img
Фиона Росс
Фиона специализируется на шрифтовом дизайне и типографике арабского, южноазиатского и тайского алфавитов, благодаря опыту работы с языками и письменностями. Получила докторскую степень в области индийской палеографии в подразделении Лондонского университета — Школе восточных и африканских исследований. Фиона — профессор шрифтового дизайна на кафедре типографики и графических коммуникаций Университета Рединга (Великобритания). В настоящее время она руководит финансируемым Леверхульмом исследовательским проектом «Women in type». Фиона работает консультантом, шрифтовым дизайнером, автором и преподавателем; ее последние дизайнерские работы были выполнены в сотрудничестве с Тимом Холлоуэем, Джоном Хадсоном и Нилакашем Кшетримаюмом для таких клиентов, как Ананда Базар Патрика, Adobe, Microsoft, Monotype и Harvard University Press. За свою работу в области шрифтового дизайна и образования Фиона получила награду SoTA Typography Award (2014) и медаль Type Director’s Club (2018).
img
Питер Билак
Питер работает в области издательского, графического и шрифтового дизайна. В 1999 году он основал шрифтовую студию Typotheque, в 2000 со Стюартом Бейли стал соучредителем журнала об искусстве и дизайне Dot Dot Dot, в 2012 основал Works That Work, журнал о креативе в повседневной жизни. В 2015 году вместе с Андреем Кратки он стал соучредителем Fontstand.com, платформы для аренды шрифтов. Вместе c хореографом Лукашем Тимулаком они создают современные танцевальные перфомансы — они основали Make-Move-Think.org, фонд междисциплинарного художественного сотрудничества. Питер преподает в аспирантуре Type & Media в Королевской академии искусств в Гааге. Член AGI (Международный графический альянс).
img
Джон Бордли
Джон Бордли — автор книги «Typographic Firsts: Adventures in Early Printing» и c 2007 года основатель самого популярного в мире блога о типографике I Love Typography. Помимо редактирования ILT, он пишет еще несколько книг по ранней истории шрифта и печатной книги. Джон родился в Великобритании, потом жил в Японии, а сейчас во Вьетнаме.
img
Олег Мацуев
Графический и шрифтовой дизайнер, каллиграф. Окончил МГУ им. М. В. Ломоносова по специальности «дизайн СМИ», в 2004–2007 обучался в шрифтовой мастерской Александра Тарбеева в МГУП. Победитель международных конкурсов шрифтового дизайна «Современная кириллица 2009, 2014, 2019». Шорт-лист конкурса New Cyrillic 2012 и шорт лист конкурса Call for type 2011, Майнц, музей Гутенберга. Исследователь допетровской рукописной традиции и ранних кирилловских шрифтов. Организатор выставки каллиграфии и леттеринга «Русское письмо: традиция и эксперимент» (2017, 2018, 2021).
img
Кристиан Шварц
Кристиан Шварц (1977 г.р.) возглавляет Нью-Йоркский офис компании Commercial Type, которую он основал вместе с лондонским дизайнером Полом Барнсом. Шрифты Шварца публикуются во многих независимых студиях, включая House Industries, Emigre и Font Bureau, кроме того он разрабатывал шрифты для корпораций и изданий по всему миру. Шварц и Барнс начали постоянное сотрудничество в 2005 году с большой шрифтовой системы для The Guardian, и с тех пор вместе со своей командой создали шрифты для Esquire, Музея современного искусства (MoMA) в Нью-Йорке, Яндекса, Vanity Fair и других. В 2007 году Шварц был награжден престижной премией Шарля Пеньо, которая вручается раз в четыре или пять лет Международной типографической ассоциацией дизайнеру в возрасте до 35 лет, который внес «выдающийся вклад в область шрифтового дизайна».

Оргкомитет

img
Дмитрий Голуб
img
Ник Недашковский
img
Аня Русанова
img
Геннадий Фридман
img
Лара Широченко
img
Александра Якупова

Партнеры конкурса

Контактная информация

По любым вопросам, связанным с организацией конкурса и условиями приёма работ вы можете обращаться в организационный комитет конкурса по адресу cyrillic@paratype.com, а также в нашу группу в Facebook или в Telegram.

Этапы проведения

Приём работ
06.04.202117.05.2021
Публикация результатов отборочного тура
05.07.2021
Объявление победителей
15.07.2021

Результаты конкурса будут опубликованы на сайте moderncyrillic.org 15.07.2021. Победители будут отмечены дипломами конкурса «Современная кириллица-2021», а работы напечатаны и представлены в каталоге конкурса и на передвижной выставке. Авторы шрифтов-победителей получат почётный диплом и экземпляр каталога.

Дополнительным бонусом для победителей станут два специальных приза от популярных шрифтовых редакторов FontLab и Glyphs — лицензия на наиболее актуальные версии этих популярных программ.

Чтобы принять участие,
откройте сайт
на десктопе